Reviews of The Way of the Dog

At The Way of the Dog we are always keen to hear about your experiences of our services and how they have impacted upon you and your relationship with your dog. We would appreciate past or existing customers of The Way of the Dog taking a few minutes to give a frank and honest review of our conduct and services.

Whilst we use these reviews to assess and improve our services, they also act as a reference for those seeking an experienced dog trainer. All genuine reviews will be displayed along with the reviewers name. Your email address will not be displayed but may be used for communication by The Way of the Dog Ltd only.

Click Here to Add Your Own Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Kira 5yr old black Labrador

Jan 10, 2018 by Helen Roy

In Aug 2017 I got in touch with Shaun as Kira was becoming more and more noise sensitive. There was an incident with fireworks when she was 1yr old. Last year she got a whole lot worse. Cars, motorbikes, thunderstorms all had a big impact on her stress levels and it could take her until the next day to recover from this. With Shaun's experience, knowledge and expertise in working with dogs we have a better dog. By reinforcing training and by being calmer when she stresses means that her recovery rate has come way down and she is less stressed by noises. This will never be a cure but with Shaun's insight I can now hopefully work with her in a better way and I can read her far better. Shaun thank you so much for your support and advice. H


Millie the Airedale Terrier

Oct 11, 2017 by Andy & Jude

We have an Airedale with what can only be described as an obsession with trees and sticks. We realized that we needed professional help but didn't really know where to turn.
By chance 'The Way of The Dog' was recommended to us and during the first session there was an immediate improvement and we knew we had made the right decision on choosing Shaun to help us.
Shaun's knowledge, experience and skills really are amazing and have to be seen to be appreciated. Everything is explained thoroughly and we now have much more confidence in how we handle Millie.

We (and Millie) have made great progress and always look forward to our weekly training sessions.

If you need assistance don't look any further and contact The Way of The Dog straight away. You and your dog will not be disappointed.

Response: Thank you Andy & Jude for your kind review. Every session we have together is extremely enjoyable, Millie has great energy. That energy was being inappropriately directed, however with your hard work and focus you have successfully made great leaps in the right direction. Millie is a credit to you and has the potential for so much more. Keep working hard.


I wish I'd started earlier!! - Dog Training

Oct 02, 2017 by HJ

I took my "typical beagle" to puppy training which was o.k. but didn't really meet the needs of a very lively, clever, independent pup. Add in to the mix a couple of incidents when she was "ambushed" by bigger dogs that were off the lead and I had a lovely dog who was a mixture of wilfulness, naughtiness and anxiousness. Shaun has been great and taught me as much as he has taught her - if not more! There is a definite improvement in behaviour, not only because of the practical help and strategies given but also no doubt influenced by the fact that we are learning together. Training sessions are most enjoyable and interesting and I wish I had found Shaun, and started with him, much earlier.

Response: Thank you for your kind review Helen. Beagle's occasionally get an unfair representation regarding their ability. Mabel, despite her sometimes anxious and boisterous nature, has demonstrated outstanding potential and great intelligence. She is a great ambassador for her breed. Well done.


Cannot recommend highly enough - Behaviour Modification

Sep 25, 2017 by Eirini Apostolaki

I got in contact with Shaun regarding my dog Raul. He was having serious problems with aggression (unprovoked) towards people on the street or in the house and extreme separation anxiety. I had already tried a different behaviourist and had talked to several before getting in touch with Shaun. Being in the veterinary field myself, as a veterinarian, I knew how difficult this situation was and also how dangerous. My boy was a big, strong 2-year-old german shepherd mix and had the potential to cause significant damage to others. He had already snapped/bitten a couple of times and the problem was escalating. I was at my wits end when I stumbled across Shaun's website, after looking for accredited behaviourists in the uk (again being a vet, I cannot stress enough how important it is to find someone who actually has the qualifications and knowledge to handle your dog and knows what he's talking about. A lot of so called "behaviourists" out there giving wrong information that only harm the animal-owner relationship more).

I called Shaun and he immediately made me feel at ease. I felt like he was confident, knew what he was talking about and would do everything in his power to help us. I also knew instantly he wouldn't lie or sugar coat for me and he would give me his honest opinion on whether Raul could be helped and if I was the correct person to help him. And for the first time in a long time I felt confident and like I had someone in our corner.

We worked with Raul, Shaun always just being a phone call away during our ups but most importantly are multiple downs. And he was there when tough choices had to made (sadly it was revealed during the process that Raul was suffering from a lifelong, debilitating disease, which made the outcome really negative for him and us).

I cannot recommend Shaun highly enough. He's been there for me through everything, he kept in touch well beyond what his "duty" was and I feel like he genuinely cared for both me and Raul. I recommend him daily to patients and clients who struggle with behaviour issues and I will continue doing so for the rest of my career. Shaun is truly a credit to his profession, a wonderful person and his knowledge and professionalism are coming second to only his true love and compassion for the dogs under his care.

Thank you Shaun, for everything!

Response: Thank you Eirini. I recognise that writing this review would have been no easy task given the very sad ending, I am extremely grateful. However, between the two of us we will utilise the whole experience to great effect by the support that we give to others who find themselves in similar situations.


Jake - we knew it wouldn't be easy

Jun 22, 2017 by Malcolm Smith

Jake is a 10 months old Lakeland Terrier who we got in November 2016 so he was 3 months when we brought him home. Although we have had dogs before, last one 20 years ago, my wife and I are newbies when it comes to pups. After a very shaky start with a completely unsuitable trainer we were recommended to contact Shaun and thank goodness we did. After the initial 3 training sessions with Shaun the change in Jake's behavior is definitely improving. He's not a naughty dog, he's showing all the traits of a Lakie, but sometimes needs a reminder of who and where he is. One thing became obviously clear through the training sessions, it wasn't only Jake who needed training as some of the things we thought we were doing right needed correcting and through Shaun's patience and understanding we think we to are improving. We are continuing training sessions and look forward to a long and happy life with Jake....thanks to Shaun.

Response: Thank you for a kind review. It has been most enjoyable working with you and watching Jake develop whilst enjoying himself. Terriers are often misunderstood and as a result inappropriately trained, your story is another example of choosing very carefully who to work with. Well done for your effort, enthusiasm, and dedication to Jake. I look forward to working with you again very soon.


Gozo (Behaviour Modification)

May 04, 2017 by Kate Lewis

Where do I start?!...I honestly can't put into words how much Shaun has done for me and Gozo. Gozo is a Border Collie, he is now 6 months old. I first contacted Shaun when Gozo was 3 months old, he had bitten me aggressively, he had already growled at me several times and I was starting to worry. Gozo is the result of puppy farming, I was not aware of his tragic way into this world when I got him. I initially contacted Shaun for a chat, he was great. He clearly explained what was happening and he was genuinely concerned for my well being. He gave me time to reflect and make a decision on what I was going to do. All I can say is thank goodness I went with Shaun and The Way of the Dog. I don't know where we would be right now if it wasn't for Shaun. Shaun has been brilliant, he certainly knows the Way of The Dog, his knowledge is second to non and he continues to help me learn The Way too. He has been tireless in his work to help me and Gozo! Because of Shaun I have been able to give Gozo my very best. And no matter what will happen in the future I know I couldn't have done more for Gozo and myself for that matter. Because of Shaun I am a better dog owner than I ever thought I would or could be. Shaun I can't thank you enough! If you are reading this review and you're worried or concerned about your dogs behaviour and you need help, I can't recommend Shaun highly enough. Shaun, thank you for everything.

Response: Thank you for such a kind review. My comments to Carmel apply to you both, I was not expecting a review from each of you. In time we will produce a case study on Gozo to help support other owners with suspected puppy farmed dogs. Living with a dog with deep rooted psychological issues is going to be a challenge for anyone. It requires courage and strength, composure and commitment. Everyday is potentially challenging and a day for learning. I applaud you for standing by your dog despite his issues.


Gozo the Border Collie (Behaviour Modification)

Apr 20, 2017 by Carmel

Gozo was purchased from what we now know is likely to be a puppy farm and it wasn't long before Gozo started displaying unusual aggression for a puppy of only 4 months. My partner contacted Shaun after Gozo bit her and due to resource guarding.. Shaun is incredibly supportive and has always been on the end of a phone when we needed him. His training sessions are fantastic and his knowledge and insight into dog behaviour is amazing. We keep a support blog going which Shaun reads and responds too. We would recommend The Way of the Dog to anyone looking to for that extra support for a naughty dog, or a first time owner, or a dog that needs that extra special attention.

Response: Thank you for such a kind review. It is always heartbreaking to learn that the dog that you thought you had purchased turns out to be something very different. Your dedication and commitment to Gozo is testament to you despite such challenging circumstances. We have a long way to go with this young dog and I will be on hand to support you all.


Just glad I found you (Dog Training)

Apr 10, 2017 by Anne Roberts

After initial training with another trainer, we had months out of training for a reason..... We was looking for that someone who could better the experience and achieve the best from us!!!! We found Shaun and his knowledge. Owning German Shepherds and engaging them and stimulating them isn't easy. Over the last couple of months we have attended weekly session with Shaun and always progressed and left feeling motivated and positive. His knowledge, experiences and training qualifications are second to none. My dogs are building in confidence because we are learning together. We look forward to our sessions and long may it continue!!!! Looking forward to achieving the unknown. We couldn't recommend the Way of the Dog services enough. Thank you for making our sessions stimulating, enjoyable and challenging. Indie, Bella, Dexter, Ste and Anne. Here's looking forward to many more!!!!! ???

Response: Thank you for your kind review. There is only one way to achieving success with your dogs, and that is working hard. There are shortcuts, there are gimmicks, there are unpleasant approaches to training, but they will not yield the same result as honest hard work. Working with you all is enjoyable and rewarding because you are prepared to listen, discuss, and graft. Your dogs will reflect that effort in time and you will be rewarded. Well done and keeping working hard.


Chase - Behaviour Modification

Feb 25, 2017 by Richard Gee

"The Way of the Dog" is the perfect name for Shaun's company, because that's what he has to taught me. How Chase thinks. Why he does things. Why he reacts in certain ways. In a short period of time, Shaun got me thinking like a dog. Into Chase's mindset. Not only have I found that interesting and exciting, but it has been so invaluable in understanding where I had gone wrong. I approached Shaun after a random search on the internet. I knew I needed help, but I just had no idea who to turn to. It was a very important - and lucky - phone call, because I found a man who is undoubtedly an expert in his field and who I have utmost respect for. He dropped in like a parachuter, listened carefully, and immediately told me what the issue was, what I had done wrong, and what I needed to do to sort it. Very clear and plain speaking, which is precisely what I wanted and needed in my hour of need. Shaun and bullshit just don't mix. The problem I was facing was ultimately my fault, albeit I had created it without realising. I had two GSDs who were - basically - bored, and that was manifesting itself in bad behaviour (including escaping and chasing sheep, leading to all manner of fun and games with farmers and police). Again, all my fault. Shaun came along and empowered me to take control. He filled me with confidence that I could turn things around, and he showed faith in me. That meant a great deal, because the situation was at best a bad one, and Chase was quite literally dicing with death. I know I have a long way to go, but Shaun's involvement in the last couple of months have turned round a nasty situation. He sees things immediately. He explains them clearly. He is a superb teacher, and makes it all so interesting and - selfishly - fun. I love my sessions and cannot wait for the next week. So too does Chase, who has become a much happier and fulfilled dog since Shaun arrived on the scene. If you are reading this and find yourself in a position where your dog has a problem and need a master of his trade, stop looking now. You have the right man.

Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. My job satisfaction is the fact that your dog has not been destroyed and is now demonstrating the potential that was innate. You have worked extremely hard and it has, and continues to be, a pleasure to work with you and your dog. I look forward to helping you go far with this beautiful GSD. Well done, time now to focus forward and keep working hard.


Sibling Rivalry - Dog Training

Dec 21, 2016 by anonymous

When we started working with Shaun we had been told that we might have to re-home one of our two pups because of them being aggressive with each other. That would have been heart breaking. Shaun has a deep understanding of dog behaviour and a level of skill we hadn't found anywhere else. Within a fairly short time, we knew we could all stay together - we can't thank him enough for that!

Shaun is systematic, 100% professional and his training and guidance give results. On top of that, the training was always fun!

(Our review is anonymous to avoid offending the various trainers we had before finding Shaun)

Response: Thank you for such a kind review. Your personal experiences are not uncommon and sadly a consequence of an unregulated industry. It is not unusual for people to fall foul of unqualified and inexperienced trainers. Regardless, well done for working so hard and taking the time to develop your young dogs.


The Way Of The Dog 01204 402444 70 Temple Rd Bolton GB, BL1 3LT UK 5.0 5.0 95 95 In Aug 2017 I got in touch with Shaun as Kira was becoming more and more noise sensitive. There was an incident with fireworks when she was 1yr old. Last year she got a whole lot w
Page:
123»

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This